Style series: Monochrome

Mad about monochrome!

Yep, here’s another trend that’s leapt from the catwalk to our home styling. I’m always really drawn to black and white – whether it be in my wardrobe or interiors, it’s a look that I love. It’s so easy but super chic!

Our recent spare bedroom update had more than a touch of the monochrome about it, but with a few touches of biscuit and gold added in to warm it up.

Here’s my monochrome confession – I’m totally in love with the Stokholm Rand rug from Ikea at the moment. Can you be in love with a rug? I don’t know yet if I could or would use it in the extension, but it’s staying on my love list anyway.

ikea-stockholm-rand-rug-flatwoven__56123_PE161531_S4

Here are a few other looks that have really caught my eye…

Monochrome-modern-living-room-IH

via Housetohome

Black and white living room

via Pinterest

Black and white entryway

via Pinterest

I think if you’re bold it’s a look that you can easily adopt. I’m thinking black paint, some simple accessories like picture frames or a strong piece of furniture. On the other hand black and white can work even in colourful rooms – throw in a few accessories to tone down all of the different shades.

If you don’t want to go the whole hog, here are a few of my picks that you can incorporate into your existing schemes.

Black and White shopping picks

Graham and Brown wallpaper / Rockett St George wall stickers / H&M cushion cover / Julien McDonald vases from Debenhams

Jasper Conran for Wedgewood / Notonthehighstreet Hattie chair / John Lewis fabric / Ikea Stockholm cushion

So, any black and white additions that you’d like to add to your interiors? I’d love to know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Style series: Monochrome

Leave a Reply

